Architecture decor

David Adjaye selected as 2018 Thomas Jefferson Foundation Medalist in Architecture

The University of Virginia and the Thomas Jefferson Foundation at Monticello have unveiled this year’s winners of their highest honors, the 2018 Thomas Jefferson Foundation Medals in Architecture, Citizen Leadership and Law. 

Renowned London-based architect David Adjaye is recognized as a leading architect of his generation, while the Citizen Leadership medal goes Morgan Carrington “Cary” Fowler Jr., an American agriculturalist and a driving force behind the creation of the Svalbard Global Seed Vault, and the Law medal honors Frank H. Easterbrook, a judge on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit and senior lecturer of law at the University of Chicago Law School.

“All of this year’s medal recipients have excelled in their respective
fields,” UVA President Teresa A. Sullivan said. “Along with their
commitment to achievement in their disciplines, they share a sense of
intellectual innovation and service to the greater good.”

The awards will be officially presented on Jefferson’s birthday, April 13, in the Dome Room of the Jefferson-designed Rotunda at UVA. David Adjaye will give a free public lecture at 4:00 p.m. in the Old Cabell Hall Auditorium.

Previous winners of the Architecture medal include Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, I.M. Pei, Frank Gehry, Toyo Ito, Cecil Balmond, and Yvonne Farrell + Shelley McNamara of Grafton Architects.


Register by Mon, May 7, 2018

Submit by Mon, May 14, 2018


Register/Submit by Mon, Jun 4, 2018

RESIDE: Mumbai Mixed Housing

Register by Sun, Apr 29, 2018

Submit by Mon, Apr 30, 2018


Register by Sun, Apr 29, 2018

Submit by Mon, Apr 30, 2018

Post a new comment:

View all

View all

view all